Government of Western Australia: Future Battery Industry taskforce members named to drive industry

Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Johnston has revealed the members of the Future Battery Industry Strategy’s Ministerial taskforce, the Government of Western Australia announced.

The taskforce, which includes mining companies, industry bodies and union groups, will actively explore local and global opportunities to grow the State’s critical minerals industry.

Western Australia has all the minerals required to make lithium-ion batteries, which are predominantly used in electric vehicles, mobile phones, laptops and cameras.

The McGowan Government’s Future Battery Industry Strategy has also been recharged to ensure WA’s capabilities are identified in the battery and critical minerals supply chain space.

The boosted strategy will harness the opportunities presented by critical minerals and rare earth elements, which are required to manufacture defence technologies, wind turbines and solar panels, and aeroplane engines and alloys.

Additionally, the WA Government is continuing its search to attract a global precursor or cathode active materials (CAM) manufacturer to the State, following a $13.2 million commitment announced in the WA Recovery Plan.

For more information, visit

Comments attributed to Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Johnston: “I’m excited to announce the members of the Future Battery Industry Ministerial Taskforce, who will actively explore global opportunities to grow our State’s critical minerals industry. Developing the future battery and critical minerals industry will create jobs and diversify the economy, which is particularly important to support our State’s recovery post-COVID-19. The updated Future Battery Industry Strategy will cement WA as a premier provider of minerals and materials, and a leader in technological expertise.”

Industry represented on the Ministerial Taskforce includes:

  • Albemarle Lithium
  • Association of Mining and Exploration Companies
  • Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union
  • Australian Services Union
  • Australian Vanadium
  • BHP Nickel West
  • Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA
  • Chamber of Minerals and Energy WA
  • Coogee Chemicals
  • EcoGraf
  • IGO
  • Lisle Group
  • Lycopodium
  • Lynas Corporation
  • Magellan Power
  • Northern Minerals
  • Pilbara Minerals
  • Primero
  • Tianqi Lithium Australia
Previous articleAirbus H125/AS350 Series helicopters fly with True Blue Power lithium-ion batteries
Next articleA new electronic module safeguards self-driving vehicles against the total failure of onboard electrical systems